HOW I GOT MY GROOVE BACK

It took twenty-nine consecutive days of entertaining guests, one three-day holiday spent entirely in bed, and a two-week vacation.

My friends, I’m back.

I returned home from the aforementioned vacation nearly a week ago, and I’m still reeling from the trip.  I had merely intended on visiting friends and celebrating Thanksgiving in a place that felt like Autumn (my neighborhood in Morocco is only bi-seasonal, summer and winter), but what ended up happening were reconnections with old friends, connections with new ones, and the overall restoration my faith in humanity.

After being robbed and dealing with the numerous headaches and stressors brought on by the incident, I was left feeling alone and isolated from my communities, both Moroccan and American.  Contrary to my glass-half-full demeanor, I became bitter and apathetic toward, and withdrawn from, those around me.

Whether it was time healing the wound or the jarring change of scenery that helped pull me out of my funk, I can’t say.  What I do know – and the only thing that matters, as far as I’m concerned – is that I’m back to feeling like myself again.  I’m cheerful and optimistic again, and I feel as though I’m back in sync with the beat of what’s going on around me.

Best of all, I’ve started writing again.  Oh, how I’ve missed my craft.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HOW I GOT MY GROOVE BACK

  1. gary wojcik says:

    best news I’ve heard in a while, looking forward to more good blog reading

Leave a comment